• Tamias
  • Genus Tamias - Chipmunks

    There are 24 species in the genus Tamias. This genus represents the common and unmistakable chipmunks. Distinguishing species, however, can be an extremely difficult task in the field. The observer needs to examine a combination of field markings and the habitat and range of each species. Currently we have only profiled the colorado chipmunk, the eastern chipmunk and the least chipmunk in this genus.

    In general chipmunks are distinguished from ground squirrels because of the stripes on their head. Often they are black, white and orangish in color.

    Chipmunks have cheek pouches in which they can carry food to store in their burrows. Most burrow independently rather than in groups like ground squirrels. They can be seen in pairs only during mating season.


    • Tamias alpinus – Alpine chipmunk
    • Tamias amoenus – Yellow-pine chipmunk
    • Tamias bulleri – Buller’s chipmunk
    • Tamias canipes – Gray-footed chipmunk
    • Tamias cinereicollis – Gray-collared chipmunk
    • Tamias dorsalis – Cliff chipmunk
    • Tamias durangae – Durango chipmunk 
    • Tamias merriami – Merriam’s chipmunk 
    • Tamias minimusLeast chipmunk
    • Tamias obscurus – California chipmunk
    • Tamias ochrogenys – Yellow-cheeked chipmunk
    • Tamias palmeri – Palmer’s chipmunk
    • Tamias panamintinus – Panamint chipmunk
    • Tamias quadrimaculatus – Long-eared chipmunk
    • Tamias quadrivittatusColorado chipmunk
    • Tamias ruficaudus – Red-tailed chipmunk
    • Tamias rufus – Hopi chipmunk
    • Tamias senex – Allen’s chipmunk
    • Tamias siskiyou – Siskiyou chipmunk
    • Tamias sonomae – Sonoma chipmunk
    • Tamias speciosus – Lodgepole chipmunk
    • Tamias striatusEastern chipmunk
    • Tamias townsendii – Townsend’s chipmunk 
    • Tamias umbrinus – Uinta chipmunk

    The Siberian chipmunk (Eutamias sibiricus) is in it’s own genus.


    Species listed under Tamias